Why I Don’t Date and Why Shouldn’t Either

Renuka Gavrani
7 min readAug 19, 2022

I am in my early 20s and at this age, I am expected to have a hot date with me. In fact, my friends actually have the audacity to ask me, if I don’t have enough options available to have a good date.

Although, it’s as normal as breathing to have a partner as soon as you step into this new teenage world yet I believe that dating to me is not about picking the red hot tomato from the market. Dating is about sharing your life with someone for a specific period of time and that time can influence your life in both good and bad ways.

Though, I have never been in a romantic relationship before yet all of my friends (from school to college) were. The tragedy is each and every one of them hated their previous partner or had a rough relationship experience.

But in every movie, book, or web series I watched, I knew somewhere in my heart that relationships can really be the most beautiful thing in the world if you are mindful about who and when to have a partner. In fact, I may not have a boyfriend in real life, I have numerous boyfriends inside my head after reading a good romantic book. (I know all the girls can agree with me here)

So, let’s see why dating sounds so much fun yet in real life why everything takes a rough track. Shall we?

--

--

Renuka Gavrani

I talk about slow & Intentional living - taking you closer to a happy life. I am a published author of the book 'The Art of Being Alone': https://a.co/d/531JIFq